Home Blog Page 138

Were two brothers promoted to Major General on the same day?

0

A photo of two Nigerian Army officers has been circulated on social media with accompanying caption that they were two brothers promoted to the rank of Major General on the same day.

One of such posts archived here made by  Olusoga Owoeye (@olusogaowoeye) on Twitter has garnered over 1000 engagements, including retweets.

The post read in part, “Two brothers, same parents from Bayelsa, both belong to the Artillery Corp[s] of the Nigerian Army, and they were both promoted to the rank of Major General today.” 

THE CLAIM:

Two army officers who are brothers were both promoted to the rank of Major General on the same day.

A screenshot of the tweet reshared on Facebook.

THE FINDINGS:

Findings by The FactCheckHub show that the claim is false.

A senior officer of the Nigerian army confirmed to the FactCheckHub that both officers Taritimiye and Teriworie in the viral photo are brothers.

Taritimiye Ayibakuro is the eldest of the two Gagariga brothers.

However, they were not promoted to the rank of Major General on the same day.

The eldest, Taritimiye Ayibakuro Gagariga, was promoted to the rank of Major General several years before his younger brother, Teriworie,  who got his promotion in December of 2021.

The viral photo in circulation was taken when the older brother graced his younger brother’s promotion decoration ceremony to Major General.

As of 2019, Taritimiye was already a Major General.  Multiple reports when he led a fact-finding team on the Abonema killings addressed him as such.

In August and September 2021, different news reports also addressed him as a Major General.

THE VERDICT

The claim that two brothers, Taritimiye and Teriworie Gagariga, were promoted to the rank of Major General on the same day is FALSE.

Fake front-page apology to Meghan Markle circulates online

1

Following a court judgement that ruled in favour of the Duchess of Sussex Megan Markle against the Associated Press over a letter she sent to her father, a front-page apology purported to be from the Mail on Sunday has been widely circulated online. 

The page retrieved on WhatsApp on December 26, 2021, has Markle’s picture on the left-hand side with a screaming headline underneath it which reads “She won!”

“We are sorry we ever messed with you Meghan. Your victory is well deserved, and we were out of order,” the accompanying article read in part.

THE CLAIM:

It shows the front page of Mail on Sunday, which offered Meghan Markle an apology.

The fake front page of The Mail on Sunday in circulation.

THE FINDINGS:

Findings by The FactCheckHub show that the claim is FALSE, the page in circulation has been manipulated.

It is different from the Mail on Sunday front page published on boxing day, December 26, 2021.

The language used in the apology page in circulation, the font size and the page layout were red flags that necessitated verification as they did not conform to the style of the Mail on Sunday.

Meghan had in 2019 started legal action against the Mail on Sunday, claiming that the paper unlawfully published one of her private letters, particularly the one she sent to her father, Thomas Markle, in August 2018.

However, two years down the line, the Appeal Court in the UK ruled in favour of Markle on the privacy battle.

The newspaper said that it was “very disappointed” and is considering an appeal to the UK’s Supreme Court.

Markle, in her part, celebrated the judgment and said that she hopes it would help in changing the UK newspaper industry.

“This is a victory not just for me, but for anyone who has ever felt scared to stand up for what’s right,” reads,” her statement read in part.

The Judge had ordered Mail on Sunday to report the court decision on its print and online versions.

The original front page of Mail on Sunday of December 26, 2021.

The newspaper made the publication on Boxing day. It had a headline on the front page “The Duchess of Sussex wins her legal case for copyright infringement against Associated Newspapers for articles published in The Mail on Sunday and posted on Mail Online – SEE PAGE 3”.

It also has a short report on page three published on its website titled “Duchess of Sussex”.

It stated that Markle won her copyright infringement case against them. It also added that “Financial remedies have been agreed.”

The publication at the top left hand on page three of Mail on Sunday.

THE VERDICT:

Findings by the FactCheckHub shows that the front-page apology in circulation has been manipulated and, therefore, FALSE.

Is Islam the second-largest religion in the United Kingdom?

0

ON DECEMBER 25, during the Christmas festivities, Nigerians on social media, particularly on Twitter, argued about the population of Muslims in the United Kingdom (UK).

In response to a particular post stating that children of Nigerian migrants in the UK are mostly going to end up in schools or churches, where they would be participating in Christmas activities, irrespective of their religious affiliations, A Twitter user claimed that Islam is the second-largest religion in the UK.

The Twitter user Ayo with the user ID, @AladejanaDeji, tweeted that about 4.4 per cent of the total population of UK residents were Muslims as of 2011.

He added that over 3.3 million people were estimated to be Muslim in Great Britain as of 2018.

“In 2011, 2,516,000 individuals, about 4.4% of the total population of UK residents were Muslims. In 2018, the Office of National Statistics estimated that there are about 3,372,966 Muslims in Great Britain alone. Islam is currently the second-largest religion in the UK,” his tweet read.

A screenshot of the tweets.

From the tweet, the following claims were established:

CLAIM 1:

‘2,516,000 people making up of 4.4 per cent of UK residents were Muslim as of 2011’

Findings by The FactCheckHub show that the claim is half true.

Data from the United Nation data bank show that there were  63.2 million (63,182,178) people in the UK as of 2011.

Out of the total population, almost 2.8 million (2,786,635)  identified as Muslims.

The 2,786,635 equate to 4.4 per cent of the total population.

The United Nations stated that the data was extracted from the population census conducted in the country in 2011

THE VERDICT: The claim is HALF TRUE. While 4.4 per cent of the total UK population were Muslims as of 2011, the total Muslim population were  2,786,635 and not 2,516,000.

CLAIM 2:

‘3,372,966 million people were estimated to be Muslim in Great Britain as of 2018.’

Findings by The FactCheckHub show that the claim is true.

A report by the UK’s Office for National Statistics stated that there were almost 3.4 million (3,372,966) Muslims in Great Britain as of 2018.

THE VERDICT: The claim is TRUE.

CLAIM 3:

‘Islam is the second-largest religion in the UK’

Findings by The FactCheckHub show that the claim is true.

Data from the United Nations show that the second-largest religious group in the UK is Islam, with  4.4 per cent of the population equating to almost 2.8 million (2,786,635) people identifying as Muslims.

Christianity is the largest religious group with  37.5 million (37,583,962) people.

However, 16 million (16,221,509) people said they had no religion, while another 4.5 million (4,528,323) did not specify.

The data was based on information from the census conducted in the UK in 2011.

Census in the UK is done every ten years.

The most recent was in March 2021; due to the COVID-19 pandemic,  the census in Scotland was shifted to be conducted in 2022. As such, the data is not yet available.

THE VERDICT: The claim is TRUE.

On the Immigration letter in circulation on planned terrorist attack

0

In the fourth week of December 2021, a circular with the Nigeria Immigration Service (NIS) letterhead putting its officers at various border posts across the country on alert about a possible terrorist attack in Abuja, Nigeria’s capital surfaced online.

Blogs and mainstream media alike reported this.  It generated reactions, with some sceptical about its authenticity.

Reacting to the development, the Minister of Interior Rauf Aregbesola, when briefing  State House correspondents on the outcome of the emergency meeting of the National Security Council, presided over by President Muhammadu Buhari, said, “there isn’t any threat to safety and security of Abuja”.

He added that “Abuja is secure and very safe. If there was a leak, as you mentioned, it could just be [an] operational alert that does not require any worry or concern.”

However, a top government security official confirmed to The FactCheckHub that the document is authentic but was not meant for public consumption.

The official said the advisory was sent to the NIS because it concerns foreigners. The NIS, in turn, alerted its various commands and sectors.

The official explained that the document should have been classified so that the person who receives it in any of the commands would have treated it as such.

The letter dated December 23, 2021, was titled, ‘Terrorists Plan Attacks In Abuja’ and signed by the Land Border Patrol Commander, Edirin Okoto, on behalf of the Acting Comptroller General of Immigration Service, Idris Jere said the terrorist planned to in December.

The letter from NIS in circulation.

It reads in part, “The Office of the Ag CGI is in receipt of a Security Report (URGENT) from the Presidency (OSGF). The import is about a looming attack on Nigeria’s Capital City, Abuja, between 17th and 31st December 2021. The planned attack is purportedly being led by one DRAHMANE. OULD ALI, aka Mohammed Ould Sidat, an Algerian national to be assisted by one Zahid Aminon, a Nigerien national.

It further noted that the duo suspected of having four accomplices already in Nigeria were en route Nigeria from Mali through Gan and Niger Republic, riding a white Toyota Hilux van with Reg. No- AG157EKY.

The letter was addressed to all sector commanders and border patrol corps all over the country; Seme, Idi Iroko, Jibia, Illela land borders, as well as Immigration officers at the airports.  It directed them to intensify alert levels.

Similarly, in November, the DSS had alerted the Nigeria Customs Service (NCS) of a possible terrorist attack on Ogun border communities.

Col Amanda Azubuike NOT highest-ranking female in US Military

0

Several blogs in Nigeria reported that a Colonel, Amanda Azubuike is the highest-ranking female in the US Military.

Some of the blog posts archived here and here also stated she is the United States Southern Command Chief of  Public Affairs and the Spokesperson.

THE CLAIM

A Colonel, Amanda Azubuike, is the highest-ranking female in the US Military.

Screenshot of reported claim shared on Facebook

THE FINDINGS

Findings by The FactCheckHub show that the claim is false.

There are women in the US Military with ranks higher than a Colonel.

For instance, Laura Jane Richardson, the incumbent commander of United States Southern Command, is female and a four-star General.

She was sworn-in in October 2021.

There is Lorna Mahlock, who is a Brigadier General. She was the first black woman nominated for promotion as a Brigadier General in the United States Marine Corps.

Therefore, a Colonel which is a lower rank in comparison cannot be the highest-ranking female.

Furthermore, as of December 24, the website of the U.S. Southern Command has a Colonel, Manny Ortiz, listed as Chief of Public Affairs and not Amanda Azubuike.

The claim reported by blogs.

THE VERDICT

The claim in the blogs circulating in Nigeria that a Colonel, Amanda Azubuike is the highest-ranking female in the US military is FALSE.

Image of peeling road not from Imo but South Africa

0

A Facebook user, Ike Uche, on Friday, December 10, shared a picture of a defective road and alluded it is from Imo state.  

He stated that the road was constructed by the Imo State governor, Hope Uzodinma.

“Uzodinma detachable road construction. Ndi Imo ndo nu. We shall overcome fraudsters,” the image caption read.  The sentence in Igbo ‘Ndi Imo ndo nu’, translates to sympathising with Imo people.

The post has garnered over 600 engagements.

THE CLAIM:

The peeling road was constructed in Imo state under the administration of Hope Uzodinma.

Image of peeling shared on Facebook.

THE FINDINGS:

Checks by The FactCheckHub show that the image emanated from South Africa.

A  Google reverse image search on the image showed it appeared on the internet on November 7, 2020, when it was shared online by a Twitter user.

Similarly, the news of the road referred to as the peeling road was reported in a South African media outlet, News24.

The report states that the image is of a road linking South Africa and Botswana.

Read Also : Viral images of football pitch submerged by flood not of Lekan Salami but Hillsborough

THE VERDICT:

The claim that the peeling road was constructed in Imo state is FALSE. The image is from South Africa.

Dana Air’s claim that fares on Asaba, Owerri, Enugu routes are N18,000 is misleading

0

DANA AIR claimed on Friday that it had slashed airfares for passengers travelling from Asaba, Owerri and Enugu to Lagos to N18,000, but The ICIR’s fact-check shows that it is misleading.

The price slash, according to Dana Air, was valid between December 11 and 31, 2021, according to a statement forwarded to our correspondent on Friday and a telephone interview with the airline  on Saturday.

Dana Air flight from Owerri to Lagos  

The airline revealed its decision to slash the airfares during a courtesy visit by AHS Aviation Handling Services Nigeria Limited to Dana Air’s newly appointed Deputy Chief Executive Officer Sukhjinder Mann.

Dana Air from Asaba to Lagos

”As part of efforts to celebrate our customers this yuletide, we have introduced N18,000 flash sales for our customers travelling from Asaba, Owerri and Enugu to Lagos and this will be on till 31st December, 2021.”

The airline did not specify the class of airfare slashed to N18,000 but presented the information to the general public as if all classes could be booked at that rate.

The ICIR fact-check, however, shows that Dana flight from Owerri to Lagos for December 15, four days after the ‘flash price,’ goes as high as N32,400 for the economy class and N117,000 for the business flexible class.

For Asaba to Lagos flight on December 16, the price of economy class is N32,4000 with economy saver reaching N44,100 and business saver at N95,400.

Dana Air’s Enugu to Lagos flight

Enugu to Lagos is not different. On December 15, economy class costs N40,500 while business saver is priced at N95,400

The only period the economy class is priced at N18,000, as found by our correspondent, is on December 22/23, with other classes also as high as the previous days.

The ICIR contacted the company to explain why its press statement on Friday contradicts what is on its website.

Speaking in a telephone interview, Dana Air Spokesman Kingsley Ezenwa said the price slash was on a first-come, first-served basis.

“The flash sales are expected to begin December 11 to December 31st. It is there in the press statement. You can check that. The price slash to N18,000 is for only 40- 50 per cent of the airline capacity after which the fare moves to the next class.

“It is only for economy and not business class. We could have put the fare at N23,000, but seats are far expensive than that. We slammed it on N18,000 to make everyone fly, not many airlines do that. We opened the slot to accommodate 40-50 per cent of the total bookings and it depends on when you book. If you are not smart enough, someone else would snatch up the offer just like how it goes for Jumia Black Friday where the flash sales are limited. When someone doesn’t meet the price at 18,000, they may think it is a scam,” he explained.

However, Dana Air did not provide these explanations to Nigerians on Friday. A woman, who gave her name as Miracle, a fashion designer and cook, expressed shock over that.

“I went to the website to book it myself on Saturday, but I saw different rates. The airline should just have explained all the details, but, maybe, left the details to attract customers. This is something a consumer protection agency should have taken up.”

Republished from the International Centre for Investigative reporting.

Omicron: What to know about Nigeria’s inclusion in UK travel “red list”

0

DUE TO the emergence of the Omicron variant of the coronavirus, the United Kingdom on Saturday, December 4, announced the inclusion of Nigeria in its red list category.

According to Sajid Javid, the UK Health Secretary, the development was due to the growing confirmed cases of COVID-19 patients with Omicron variant in the country, of which 27 cases were linked to recent travel from Nigeria.

Can Nigerians travel to the UK?

With the travel red list in place, what it means is that only British or Irish citizens or residents can enter the UK from Nigeria, and those that do must first be quarantined in a hotel.

The British and Irish residents or citizens that are allowed entry into the UK from Nigeria must first quarantine in a managed hotel for 11 nights.

The cost for this mandatory quarantine cost is £2,285 for the first person and £1,430 for every child over 11.

Apart from the 11 nights quarantine, pre-departure testing and mandatory PCR testing on or before day two and on or after day eight is compulsory.

Nigeria’s inclusion on the UK travel red list commenced on December 6.

Is Nigeria the only country on the UK red list?

Nigeria is not the only country on the UK red list due to the Omicron variant.

South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zimbabwe and Namibia had earlier been added to the red list on Friday, November 26.

However, there are now 11 countries on the UK red list and they are:

Angola,  Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique,Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Can Nigeria be removed from the red list?

For now, Nigeria is currently on the red list and will remain there until a new update is made by the UK government.

According to the British Deputy High Commissioner to Nigeria, Catriona Laing, the measures will be reviewed at the three-week review point on December 20.

For now, Nigerians who do not have UK citizenship or residence permit can no longer travel to the country until the measure is revised.

FactCheckHub joins global Fact-Checking body

0

THE FactCheckHub, the fact-checking arm of the International Centre for Investigative Reporting  (The ICIR), has officially become a signatory of the International Fact-Checking Network.

Established in 2015 by Poynter Institute, the IFCN  is a forum for fact-checkers worldwide to support fact-checking initiatives by promoting best practices and exchanges.

The FactCheckHub  was officially launched in August 2020.

The IFCN stated that the FactCheckHub was considered a signatory of the international fact-checking body based on merit.

“This badge confirms FactCheckHub was deemed compliant with the IFCN principles when subjected to the established vetting process and evaluated by external assessors.

Through this process, an organization must exhibit a commitment to nonpartisanship and fairness, transparency of sources, transparency of funding and organisation, transparency of methodology, and a commitment to open and honest corrections.”

Read Also: Global Fact-Checking mentorship program open 2022 Application

Speaking on the development, Bamas Victoria, the Editor and Team Lead of the FactCheckHub, said, “this development shows that our work is at par with international standards. It also reinforces our drive to build resilience among Africans against misinformation by empowering them with the right skill sets to navigate the digital space.  We are glad to be a part of the IFCN.

By this development, The FactCheckHub has become the fourth fact-checking platform in Nigeria to become a signatory to the IFCN, joining Africa Check, Dubawa and AFP.

Is Nigeria the largest producer of rice, sorghum in Africa?

0

THE Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development in Nigeria, Mohammad Mahmood Abubakar, stated that Nigeria has become the largest producer of rice and sorghum in Africa.

A day later, the Senate Committee on Agriculture said about two million metric tonnes of rice are imported or smuggled into Nigeria.

This, in addition to the rising cost of rice in the country, necessitated a verification of the minister’s claims.

THE CLAIMS

  1. Nigeria is Africa’s largest producer of rice.
  2. Nigeria is Africa’s largest producer of sorghum.

THE FINDINGS

CLAIM 1

Findings by the FactCheckHub show that Nigeria is the largest producer of rice in Africa.

The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) gave the 2020 -2021 rice production of Nigeria as 4.89  million metric tonnes while Egypt comes second at  4 million. This was also contained in the November 2021 circular on world agricultural production.

USDA World Agricultural production circular Nov 2021.

 

CLAIM 2

Findings by the FactCheckHub show that Nigeria is the largest producer of sorghum in Africa.

The USDA gave the 2020 -2021 sorghum production of Nigeria as 6.57  million metric tonnes while Sudan comes second at  5.15 million. This was also contained in the November 2021 circular on world agricultural production.

USDA world agricultural production circular Nov. 2021

THE VERDICT

The claims that Nigeria is Africa’s largest producer of rice and sorghum are TRUE.